You Judgy B

Do you know how long you have to make a first impression? 7 seconds. That's it. You only have 7 seconds to make a good first impression when you meet someone for the first time, and considering how hard it is to change a person’s first impression of you it is really important to nail it. But if we turn it around, it means that we judge a person’s whole character on only 7 seconds. At the time it takes for someone to introduce themselves you have already had a label put on them and filed them into a specific folder, which is really unfair, but still, we all do it, we all judge.
 
 
The reason for why we judge is because of our instinct of survival. When we meet someone for the first time our brain makes a thousand calculations; Are you someone to approach or to avoid? Are you friend or foe? Can I trust you? Judging is a way to make sure that the person is not dangerous. But this kind of judging is more of a subconscious one, so we can’t really help it. But then we have the other kind of judging, the conscious one, the one where we actually make a conscious decision about another person based on what we see or hear in those first 7 seconds. And if you right now is thinking “I don’t judge” Pfft! Please, don't you lie. We all judge, but what I would like to know is; What do you judge someone for? What is the first thing you look at when you first meet a new person?

 

For me it’s the shoes. Always when I meet someone for the first time or see someone on the street, don’t matter whether it is a guy or a girl, I always check what shoes they are wearing. Shoes says a lot about a person and many people tend to forget about how much they actually can do for your overall appearance and outfit. I love shoes, so I might just pay slightly more attention and put more value to it than other people do, but I can’t help it, it matters to me. It has been times before that I would see a hot guy in the club and approach him, but then when I would get closer I would see what horrible shoes he was wearing, and no matter how much of a 10 he would be, I just couldn't get past those shoes.

 

Well, after you have read this, I guess that if we ever meet you might get a little insecure about the shoes you are wearing and wonder what they say about you. But don’t worry, I will not completely dismiss you just because I don’t like your shoes, I’m not heartless. Well, except if you wear crocs. Sorry, but then I can’t help you.

 

 
 
Life | |
Upp